HPI Image
Kansas Wheat Innovation Center

Sen. Roberts, Rep. Jenkins Named Wheat Advocates

Jan 31, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Kansas Congressional Leaders including Senator Pat Roberts and Representative Lynn Jenkins, were honored with the 2012 Wheat Advocate Awards by the National Association of Wheat Growers Jan. 29 in Washington, D.C.

The Wheat Advocate Award is given annually to Members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

“As the past Ranking Minority member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Senator Roberts worked diligently on behalf of wheat farmers to craft common-sense farm policy,” said Gary Millershaski, president of the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers from Lakin. Millershaski and KAWG’s Ken Wood joined NAWG leaders in making a presentation to Senator Roberts in Washington.

“The Kansas Association of Wheat Growers is proud to recognize Congresswoman Jenkins for her leadership and dedication to the wheat industry. Even in the challenging political environment, the congresswoman has been a champion for issues that matter to Kansas farmers,” Millershaski said.

The NAWG presented its highest Congressional award to Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) on Tuesday, as wheat growers in her home state confirmed their affiliation with the national association.

Stabenow was named the 2012 Wheat Leader of the Year, an award given annually to one Member of Congress based on his or her demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry.

Stabenow was chosen to be so honored due to her diligence and leadership on farm bill legislation in the 112th Congress.

“Though a farm bill ultimately didn’t get done last year, our growers are confident that Chairwoman Stabenow did everything in her power to push it forward, and she has already shown her commitment to do the same in this new Congress,” said NAWG President Erik Younggren, a farmer from northern Minnesota. “We are happy to honor her in this way and hope to continue our close relationship with the Chairwoman and her office in the coming years.”

The Friend of Wheat Award is given annually by NAWG for superior action in support of the goals and policies of the wheat industry. This award is given to Congressional and administrative staff members who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

2012 Friend of Wheat Award recipients nominated by the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers included:

  • Max Fisher - Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  • Brandon Harder - Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
  • Joel Leftwich - Senate Agriculture Committee Minority Staff
  • Tara Smith - Senate Agriculture Committee Minority Staff

Brett Carver, Oklahoma State University wheat breeder and professor, and National Wheat Improvement Committee (NWIC) chairman, was presented with a Friend of Wheat Award for his service to the industry. This is an exception to policy that calls for all Friends to be employed directly by Congress or an administrative agency.

Share This Page
Kansas Wheat Social Media